PDA

View Full Version : New User re: Tutorial files, SasLite, Snaps

kathexis
03-22-2003, 03:44 PM
I have been using 3d software for 10+ years (mostly 3ds max), but I am new to LW. Any input/advice on the following topics would be very helpful in my transition to Lightwave:

1- Tutorial Files:

The "Typical" PC installation (ver.7.5b from the original Newtek CD) installs a folder full of tutorial oblects and scenes files, but there does not appear to be any accompanying documentation, either on the installation CD-ROM or installed on my system. While looking at completed files is interesting, it is not very instructive without docs. Where can I find the documentation for these tutorial files (if there is any)?

I am aware of the abundance of tutorials available on the web. I am interested in finding documentation for the Tutorial files that are included with LW.

2- Saslite.p:

The Sasquatch Lite plugin has apparently not been installed on my system (I have uninstalled and re-installed LW in an attempt to correct the problem). How can I install it after LW has been installed? Is this a bug with the 7.5b patch?

3- Snaps:

3ds max, and Maya, to a lesser extent, have a variety of Snaps that facilitate modeling and animation transformations. These Snaps include: Grid, Endpoint, Midpoint, Vertices, etc. I have found very few references to Snaps in the printed manual or in the Html Docs, and these few references mainly refer to Grid Snaps. I was aware before buying LW that LW probably did not have an implementation of Snaps that rivals max or Maya. Any information regarding Snaps (including scripts/plugins) would be very helpful - I'm feeling kind of crippled right now!

Thanks in advance for any input you can provide.

Tim F. Minneapolis, USA

Skonk
03-22-2003, 04:46 PM