PDA

View Full Version : Stuck between the two...

MrKnight
05-07-2004, 09:33 AM
I've been learning LW at work for about 6 months, and I was planning to buy it soon for home use, BUT after reading post after post about how unprofessional NewTek is when it comes to customer service Iím starting to look around at other 3d programs. The one Iím leading into now is Maya. Their website has tons of videos, tutorials and information that is well updated. Yes, Maya is a little more expensive for the regular version but isnít it true....you get what you pay for. The reason Iím writing this is I would like to hear your comments, and tell me why I should buy LW instead.
Since Maya is little more expensive does that mean it's better?

iharris
05-07-2004, 09:43 AM
Every program has its uses. It all depends on what you're going to be using it for. Having used both I prefer Lightwave because I find point modelling wasier and more comfortable. A lot of the extra cost for maya is plugins that come as part of it instead of separate, i.e. Maya Fur and the like. The customer service question is a little more complicated. Everyone has a different experience, having worked in customer service it depends on the situation and the person you're dealing with, and also the quality of your co-workers. Some people will never be happy and some customer service reps are useless, it isn't a problem that is exclusive to Newtek, its par for the course. I'd advise you to play with everything and go the route thats the most comfortable or most applicable to your situation.

-iharris15

Signal to Noise
05-07-2004, 09:52 AM
You can't judge Customer Service solely on the content contained on their website. Besides, NewTek equally has lots of tutorials, videos, free downloads, etc. to keep a LW user busy for quite a while.