PDA

View Full Version : How to present images on these forums?

TerryFord
02-11-2003, 10:23 AM
How would forum users prefer images to be presented?

see MGuerras message for pros/cons:

http://vbulletin.newtek.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=165&pagenumber=2

Skonk
02-11-2003, 10:29 AM
Personally i dont mind them opening in a new window, as long as there is no limit to the size (height/width) of the image. I also dont mind having a file size limit but the limit should be quite high, this been a site dedicated to graphics and all.

James..

paintboy
02-11-2003, 10:35 AM
i would prefer #2 but either 1 or 2 is cool with me.
as long as we are not restricted(within reason )to size
as a designer i appreciate the asthetics issue.....gotta look good too!

TerryFord
02-11-2003, 10:38 AM
Mmm, I don't have a huge problem with linked images, but I think that if a user wants to post several images, or a render and wireframe version, then seeing them together in the message is better. Plus it's a few less clicks per day off the thousand or so I'm already doing :)

if you want to see how inline images work have a look at:
http://www.cgtalk.com

Regards,
Terry

Skonk
02-11-2003, 10:47 AM
I think the perfect thing for me would be if u could post several small 500*500 images right into the thread, so ppl can post tutorials and things or as u said, a render and a wire, or shots from diff angles etc.. and then larger images with bigger dimentions and file sizes popup in a new window. Linked images from another server should also popup or show in thread but be forced to use the 500*500 limit to keep the forum looking nice.

James..

Zarathustra
02-11-2003, 03:27 PM
Well, I don't mind links but I prefer inline. Now that I've said that, I have to admit there are times when links are preferable:

When the image is HUGE!!
When there are multiple images
When there's animation
When the subject matter might upset some people's delicate and/or prudish natures

Alliante
02-11-2003, 03:42 PM