PDA

View Full Version : new lightwave user...

marketpl
05-04-2004, 10:47 AM
I'm a very new lightwave user... I have 7.5 and just got 8 in the mail. I have barely dabbled with either, yet. I am a graphic designer and I'm really familiar with the standard graphic design programs (photoshop, illustrator, etc...), but I'm trying to get into the 3 dimensional world now as an added dimension to my work. Does anyone have any recommendations on where to start? Any good beginer tutorials, or lessons I could start with... I learn fast and have already learned quite a bit about the interface of the program and a few functions, but I definitely need somewhere to start. It's a pretty imtimidating program if you haven't worked much in 3D. Any thoughts? Thanks!

Josh

marketpl
05-04-2004, 11:40 AM
by the way... I have Dan Alban's book, "LightWave 7". Is this a good book and a good place to start? I'd really appreciate any help anyone can give me on this. Thanks!

Josh

wrosado
05-04-2004, 11:52 AM
That Dan Alban book is a great place to start! He gives an overall how-to on using Lightwave... think of it as a supplement to the manual-- filing in the gaps left by the manual.

my copy is worn out!

When did you pick up 7.5?

and

When did 8 get to you?

marketpl
05-04-2004, 11:59 AM
we got [7] like 5 months ago or something, and it's been sitting on the shelf since. Not because I didn't want to get started working with it, but becuase we've just had a lot of other, more traditional design work that took priority. Now I'm ready to break into it. It's just another artistic medium to work in to me.

We got [8] thursday or friday of last week.

Thanks for the tip on the book. I was planning on probably starting there first, but I didn't know if anybody had any other ideas. Like I said, I'm new to this and want to make sure I get a real good handle on it early.

Josh

art
05-04-2004, 12:00 PM