PDA

View Full Version : again : LW to After Effects



lasco
05-04-2004, 07:17 AM
I wonder if there would not be a way to solve the question
of importing LW camera paths in AFX.

2 scripts could be used :
- first one to export all frames position / rotation of the camera
from LW as a text file

- second one : an AFX script that would import this texte file

I dunno actually if the second script could exist, just know that
AFX has scripts / sdk, however I'm sure the first script should
be possible to do (even if I'm not able to myself) but I did not
find anything like this on Flay…

Any help about this ?
Beam, do you know if AFX could import the positions of an item
as a texte file ?

brap
05-04-2004, 08:47 AM
Hey lasco, what you need is Al Street's TransMotion Utilities pack:

http://www.ats-3d.com/index.html#TransMotion%20Utilities20%20Pack

-Jamie

lasco
05-04-2004, 10:38 AM
by Jove !
For months we are several here complaining
about this missing feature, why where you so shy to show Jamie ?

25 dollars is nothing for this !
Thanx very much for the link,
by the way do you know (the page does not
mention it) if camera paths exported
for AFX with this tool work in AFX standard
edition or only in Pro Bundle version ?

thanx for info :)

brap
05-04-2004, 12:14 PM
lasco, glad I could help! I didn't see your previous posts, but I'm glad I did this time.
You just copy and paste keyframe data, so the regular AFX should be fine.

cheers,
Jamie

spigolo
05-04-2004, 01:21 PM
Anyway it's a shame that newtek didn't made this feature just as there is a plug in.
Have you seen how Cinema 4d export to After Effects? Why newtek seems to hate to do this little features that makes the life of advanced user simpler.
Where are the famous "Integration with thirdy parts tools?"

Beamtracer
05-04-2004, 03:18 PM
If you think it's important, add a message on the feature request thread that was started some time ago.

http://vbulletin.newtek.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=10739

I've given up hope that it'll ever be done. I don't think Newtek is interested.

By the way, third party plug-ins that require cutting and pasting of information between text files is a really clunky way to do it. Difficult to do and sometimes erroneous.

lasco
05-04-2004, 03:31 PM
By the way, third party plug-ins that require cutting and pasting of information between text files is a really clunky way to do it. Difficult to do and sometimes erroneous.

Well I guess in most cases it can do the stuff OK and it's better than nothing,
of course I'd prefer that the function is integrated but…

Now just 2 more points :

- That plug will coast me 25 dollars and will be much usefull and
time saving while I've just spend 300 bucks for another tool called
FPrime that does not deserve anything than being trashed for the use I have
> much more slower than LW renderer
> unstable and forces to triangle evry objects (which is just unimaginable
in my job)

- Second : Beam, I prefer :
- paying 25 dollars a plug that allows me to export camera paths to my STANDARD version of AFX

than :
- NT do it themselves but in a way that like for 3DS Max paths forces
me to spend hundred euros for the Pro Bundle (as I guess you know
that importing Max's paths in AFX is not possible with v. standard)

lasco
05-04-2004, 03:35 PM
[
Where are the famous "Integration with thirdy parts tools?"

I agree, though I must say I think LW misses much more
integration with 3D / 2D standards, in modeling :
- DWG / better DXF / VRML / Max / C4D / imports would be
usefull for more of us… on the other hand it's sure it may be much
more long and complicated to develop than simple 3D paths…

ACLOBO
05-05-2004, 03:35 AM
Fprime rocks for what I do...

-Adrian