PDA

View Full Version : LW8 wont license even with correct number



Intuition
05-03-2004, 11:40 PM
Well I got my LW8 (yippee).

But, I haven't torn into it full blast yet as my license key doesn't seem to work for it.

Now I have enetered the key numerous ways.

I put in the key when the install finished and asked for it.

It said it was successful but upon starting it started the discovery edition.

So, having owned LW since 4.0, I knew a few ways around this "programmed way" of entering a license key, which BTW I have never had work anyways I always put the key in with a text editor in the license.key file.

Well that didn't work either.

So I thought I would just mess around in discovery mode anywhoo since I can get my current work complete with 7.5c anyways and when I have time I'll get back into 8.

Well, while messing around in 8 I found the "Enter Key" button in the help menu.

Ah, how nice, but I wondered if it woudl work any better then the one that asked for my key after install.

So, again I put in the number.

And I got this message..so All seemed good an well

Intuition
05-03-2004, 11:42 PM
But... and here is the but...

It still fires up in discovery mode. So I must have assumed my old key for 7.5c (same dongle mind you) would work for 8 when maybe I was wrong. Do I need a new number for 8 or is the 7.5 number supposed to work?

Well lemme know if you have any thoughts I am excited to try 8.. Thanks in advacne.

korn_kid
05-04-2004, 12:46 AM
Yes, you do need a new number for version 8.0.
Just register your copy of LightWave [8] and you'll get a new number.

http://register.newtek.com/

http://register.newtek.com/howto/index-lw.aspx

MiniFireDragon
05-04-2004, 06:58 AM
FYI: U only get discovery mode if the key isn't being recognized, and I THINK after the what, 15 or so days of use before if needs to be registered?

So I ask, do u have the KEY on?? Have you updated the Sentinel Drivers??

The last is, has it been 15 days since u installed it??

Signal to Noise
05-04-2004, 08:05 AM
Hopefully you've discovered the errors of your ways from the other replies but here is a link (http://vbulletin.newtek.com/showthread.php?s=&postid=170408#post170408) if you're still stumped.