PDA

View Full Version : [bug] Particle Emitter Textures



mlinde
03-21-2003, 01:24 PM
So I don't know how else to classify this problem, if anyone can work it out without the same problems, I'd love to know the workaround.

First, I'm on a dual 800, with 1.2 GB RAM, so it's not that slow.
Second, I'm in OS X.2.4, LW 7.5
Here's the problem:
1) Create a new scene
2) Create a null.
3) Open the object properties, make it an FX Emitter.
4) Go to Motion, Vector(m/s) settings.
5) Set the vector x/y/x to something, and click on the "T" for texture.

At this point, my machine slows to a crawl, while the texture window opens. I left for about 20 minutes, came back and the window was open, but I had NO system response, so I couldn't change any values, I could only close the texture window. I call it a bug because if this is replicable on other systems, it's either a bug or a useless feature.

My emitter has about 1000 particles running, which may or may not be a lot, with bounce interactions going.

paintboy
03-21-2003, 02:04 PM
Mlinde
just gave this a whirl...
works fine here no stalls. can change anything?
followed your instructions?

7.5/OSX.1.5 Dp 1000 /1.5gb

will try later today on X.2.3 box(its booted into 9 rightnow
and ripping a 130mb file to the printer cant stop)
anyway.....

Ok just tried on DP800/1.5gb/X.2.3/LW7.5
works there too...jacked birth rate way up,
set limit to about 8000, texture panel pops right up?
hmmm....

cremegg
03-23-2003, 02:39 PM
I'm using the same Machine as you mlinde with an Apple OEM GeForce 3 and I was unable to reproduce the bug :rolleyes: