PDA

View Full Version : Problems with textures.

MJMProdLLC
04-30-2004, 08:27 PM
I am a new user of lightwave and I am working my way through some tutorials and examples. I seem to have a problem with the surface editor. None of the preloaded surfaces and or textures are showing up. How do I either load them in or point the browser to the correct location?

digimassa
05-01-2004, 02:07 AM
:cool:
this is very basic knowledge and you should learn it from your manual,
if you dont find your manual, you can download pdf from newtek

MJMProdLLC
05-01-2004, 06:35 AM
Thank you for that very knowledgeable reply.

Like I said, I am new at this and up until this point I have only been modeling. When consulting the manual on this issue I look up texture editor which tells me to look at surface editor which leads me to image mapping. The book is great for telling me how to change the values within the editor but I cant seem to find the part that tells you how to access the preloaded surfaces and textures.

bloontz
05-01-2004, 08:06 AM
Look for the "Presets" button. The preset window is contextual so it changes depending on the active window. If the surface editor is active you will see general surface presets.

digimassa
05-01-2004, 08:47 AM
Originally posted by MJMProdLLC
Thank you for that very knowledgeable reply.

LW needs some learning, either you start now or later, but there is no other way, you cannot work through tutorials without any knowledge of basic functions, this is what I tried to tell you, believe it or not:D

You create surfaces in modeller and save them with objects, so if you change surfaces in Layout you also have to save the objects, surface is not a scene property.

mkiii
05-02-2004, 07:42 AM
You could have least pointed him towards the correct part of the manual digimassa. (Chapters 3.11, 31.7), not that they tell you much.