PDA

View Full Version : Lightwave for Games

tiler
04-29-2004, 04:38 PM
if your using LW for games why not show your stuff and pick each others brains... and solve problems

what your working on, and technical stuff..what game engine your using......why and how to use them

see how far this goes ;)

original thread
http://vbulletin.newtek.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=21712

run and jump around arrow keys to move the mesh
http://www.btinternet.com/~coloured.pixels/Kid_0.2.zip

sleiron
04-30-2004, 08:05 AM
strongarm: I'd be very interested in Level Design for Unreal 2004 with LW!

I'll keep an eye on this thread for sure!

cheers
sleiron

dbolto
04-30-2004, 08:27 AM
I am working on character design and animation for Unreal 2k4 and was wondering if anyone has had any luck w/ the Bristol Animation Export plugins?

obtain
04-30-2004, 01:37 PM
hi

glad i found this thread

im new to using lw for game work, but im learning
i keep reading about game engines, torque and unreal can anyone tell me in noobi language exactly what a game engine is and what i use for in lightwave....is it like a level editor or a converter and where do i get it from, i always thought game engines were only used by programers....please educate me

dbolto
04-30-2004, 01:42 PM
I new at this whole thing too, but to my knowledge a game engine is the main software used to create an entire game from the ground up. And a Game Editor is an App created from the Game Engine to allow people like us a chance to revamp their games. I am using Unreal Editor and if you have a copy of the latest Unreal Tournament 2k4 it comes w/ the Level Editor.

In a nutshell, if you get your hands on an editor you can create custom models and textures and import them. The animation part is what's tricky.

dbolto

obtain
04-30-2004, 01:51 PM
thanks dbolto
i actually understood that...i going to track the unreal engine down or get tournament and some good documentation

tiler
04-30-2004, 02:09 PM
i understood that as well :)