PDA

View Full Version : Would it be useful to post an NON OFFICIAL online survey?

robertoortiz
04-28-2004, 01:14 PM
I was thinking that it might the more productive/usefull to post
an online survey to capture in an organized way the features that the community wishes to have to future versions of Lightwave.

I am willing to develop and host this sort of survey on my dime

There is no hidden agenda here, just a wish to see LW progress.
The people could post their comments freely since No personal information would be captured, just comments and multiple choise questions. this is done so people could be free to comment what they have in mind.

I am a software developer based in the DC area and it has struck me that I have never seen a LW feature survey.
Doing this sort of thing is a snap. The nice thing of online surveys is that statistical reports are a snap to produce.

What do you guys think?

-R

robertoortiz
04-28-2004, 01:20 PM
These are the kind of questions I have in mind:
* Where would you implement this feature? Layout. Modeler?
* Is this a new feature?
* In what area? (dynamics, rigging, rendering, modeling or animation tools?
* Describe its workflow.
* Does it intereact with others parts of the application?
* Is this based on a SIGGRAPH paper or ongoing research?
* How critical is this request?

Nemoid
04-29-2004, 01:22 PM
Being said that i absolutely dunno if it's useful doing a similar operation, and that the development of Lw depends only from newtek decisions and staff, here is my feature wish taken from another thread, but i added a bunch of things.

1) hope that during the 8.x cycle Lw will be integrated as Dr Cross said into a new environment.

Nt should take very seriously the occasion to build up a structure in wich, with common tools of modeler, we operate into an unique environment. this can be made programming in C++ and using part of the code, so what it requires is only a good programming.