PDA

View Full Version : Help I am comfuzed by too much information VT3 Motherboard

Downchild
04-28-2004, 11:33 AM
Hi I am an artist not a technician. I know my way around a pc and
can pretend to understand with the best of them but when it comes to purchashing a vt3 I am given too much conflicting information from various sources.

My Newtek dealer has me sold on a sata-150 raid controller with 64 meg ram onboard(550$ CDN for the controller alone) and 2 sata150 drives ( this can change- he doen't have my $ yet)

I am on a budget. I am looking for a dual p-4 motherboard. Whether it has onboard scsi, sata raid or not- well that is up to you- i have no flaming idea and am getting frustrated to the point of purchsing an avid mojo instead :)

Could someone please suggest a dual p-4 motherboard(which they themselves have used) that has either serperate pci channels, or sata-raid/scsi on a seperate channel? if I could use my existing 400mhz ddr ram that would be a bonus too but not necessary.

No dua l AMD with the(VT)3?

paulk
04-28-2004, 02:30 PM
Hi, Downchild.

First, lie down in a cool, dark room with a damp cloth on your forehead and think happy thoughts until you forget all about that nasty ol' Avid!!

There are no dual P4 motherboards, only dual Xeon motherboards. A Xeon is basically the same as a P4, except it will run in a multiple cpu system.

To further confuse you, a P4 system can use 800 Mhz ram, while a dual Xeon system can use 533 Mhz ram, tops. Also, a dual Xeon system can be finicky about the type of ram (ECC Registered).

Some P4 systems come with built in SCSI or SATA, but those controllers would share the PCI bus. SuperMicro has recently come out with P4 motherboards that have the controllers on a separate PCI-X bus (P4SC8 - SCSI; P4SCT+II - SATA). Normally, though, separate busses come with dual Xeon motherboards.