PDA

View Full Version : animating a character to grab an object

Toonwonder
04-27-2004, 12:42 PM
I was wondering if there were any tips or tricks to having a character grab an object and then use it?

I assume parenting the object to a characters hand would be the way but since I'm new at animating, I figure I should ask the masters of the digital realm first.

I appreciate anything you can tell me or even anything you can direct me to look at.

hrgiger
04-27-2004, 12:59 PM
Toonwonder,

You're talking about doing 'dynamic parenting' which is basically transferring an object from one parent to another. (for instance, having a character pickup an object from a table or whatever).

You can do one of three things that I know of.

First, Lightwave comes with a motion modifier called parenter. If you select an object and hit m for the motions panel, you'll find parenter under the motion modifiers dropdown list. It has it's own interface. It will allow you to keyframe parenting but I've had mixed results with it but then I've only tried to use it a couple of times and honestly can't really remember my results.

Secondly, you could fake it. You could have an object already in your characters hand and use it's properties panel to dissolve it out (invisible). You can have a copy of that object that is sitting there and when the first object is made visible, this object becomes invisible. So it only LOOKS like you have picked up an object when really it was always there. The only trick is, you have to have them in virutally the same space when you do the switch. Not an easy task.