PDA

View Full Version : Not enough for Segment buffer



AngelDream
04-22-2004, 07:48 PM
I had a weird problem while I was trying to render this thing. LW said: "Not enough memory to allocate segment buffers"

http://hal.famaf.unc.edu.ar/~re3/Otono1.jpg

the weird thing is that I rendered yesterday at a larger size and it didn't say so!! So, I multiplied by .8 each measure and it work. But it sux, Since each program can address 4Gb RAM and uses the hard disk for it, I don't know why it says so. Besides, it's not documented. Which are LW limits? oh, never mind, I'll look for it in the manual first. Anyone knows why it says "Not enough memory to allocate segment buffers"?

digimassa
04-23-2004, 02:09 AM
:cool:
its more a Windows problem, eg. read this thread (http://vbulletin.newtek.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=21298) here in forum^^

AngelDream
04-23-2004, 02:58 PM
thanks digimassa. i'm gonna' have to render it in limited regions. the weird is that it did render the first time, at 1972x2275. stupid of me, that first time I put the wrong number 2275 instead of 2575. I could've had it render a day ago instead of fighting with "not enough memory blablabla".

tektonik
04-26-2004, 07:33 PM
it is not a windoze bug

please a scene like that should render out at 8000x8000 without any user black magic knowledge

this memory hogging should be adressed asap