PDA

View Full Version : Rather weired split line in render, HELP ?



andy gee
04-21-2004, 04:25 AM
Hello everybody

I have come up with a rather odd thing in my scene while

rendering. I rendered my scene of a cave with my character in

it and it was a good start no problems did some changes

and after about the fifth render my scene image developed

this rather harsh two tone split at the top of the camera view,

Now this isnt on my objects because when i move the camera

the split line moves aswell.

Just for info i have in my scene ( 4 spot lights, shadow mapped

with volumetric lighting, 1 piont light ray traced shadows, 1 sky

tracer sun, raytraced ) aslo raytraced shadows is on in the render

options. Can anybody help me to sort this out because i dont

know what causes this.

If any body can help then that would be great

Cheers Andy Gee

mkiii
04-21-2004, 06:36 AM
Is that the entire image, or a blowup of one part?

Are any lights parented to your camera?

Try turning your shadow lights off, and try turning the shadows back on one at a time.

Look through shadow map each light to make sure the shadow map is encompassing the scene correctly.

The line is a little harsh, for this, but multiple segments do sometimes leave an error in the render at the point where the next segment starts.

Just in case, it's wise to set the segment level in the camera panel to a very large amount, so you never have more than 1 segment. This memory is never used unless it is actually required, so a high figure has no impact on your memory.

The only other things I can think of are you may have a fg image.
You might have something in front of the camera or the light - no really.

Axis3d
04-21-2004, 07:29 AM
If you are using Volumetric lights, check to see if any of them are in Sprite mode. Maybe the 'slice' of volumetric is cutting through the set in a weird way. It doesn't really look like that - just a guess.