PDA

View Full Version : Self Taught vs An Official Eduacation

emoboy83
04-19-2004, 07:47 PM
Being self taught myself i was wondering how many people out there have an education in lightwave which came from say an official education provider or on the other hand are self taught by using forums, books and manuals etc. Also for those that are self taught what do they condider to be the greatest attribute for those that wish to learn lightwave themselves (names of books, urls etc).

NanoGator
04-19-2004, 08:17 PM
I'm self taught. The best thing I ever learned was drawing. Best book? Oh I'd have to say the Illusion of Life by Ollie Frank and Johnson Thomas.

Silkrooster
04-19-2004, 10:09 PM
I myself am self taught. I find it easier to understand by sitting in a good comfotable chair and read a book. I love user manuals most of my education came from them especially when they actually are a thick manual.
From time to time though it is nice to beable to ask someone like on this board and get advise or better yet a small video showing how it is done. Seams like the older I get the more denser I get. I wish I had LW when I was a teenager. I would have this program down in a heart beat.;)

nemac4
04-20-2004, 12:34 AM
I'm self taught.
I feel that a formal education might give a better start, but it all comes down to the artist and your desire to improve.
Also learning comes in stages for me,.. I started with Dan's books and LW specific books,.. then moved on to general 3d technique books,.. like lighting, surfacing, animation. Now I'm mainly into drawing books and watching character animation. I'm wondering now if I approached learning backwards.

Exper
04-20-2004, 03:45 AM
I'm self taught... that's all! :rolleyes:

moth0027
04-20-2004, 03:52 AM