PDA

View Full Version : Simple LW Question For a Newbie



mrc0de
03-18-2003, 10:39 PM
Hey wzup,

I just been using LW7 a little while ago. Lightwave has an optimize Polygons function doesn't it? Where the hell is the button for it?

Thanx in advance,
mrc0de:D

hrgiger
03-19-2003, 12:01 AM
As far as I know there isn't any function called optimize polys. Are you looking to reduce the number of polys in the model? If so, then I believe QemLoss2 is what you're looking for and you'll find that under the construct tab.

mrc0de
03-19-2003, 02:21 AM
Yea something to reduce polygons... Thanx A bunch!! I would've never found that myself!!!

Extremely helpful!

Thanx,
MrC0de:eek:

jb_gfx
03-19-2003, 07:08 AM
You should get QemLoss3, it's a giftware, I traded it for a few models I made.

It's a really good improvement over version 2 as it keep and interpolate all the vertex maps!

A great tool..

http://amber.rc.arizona.edu/lw/qemloss3.html

hrgiger
03-21-2003, 07:37 AM
Yeah, I would never use QemLoss2 on a model I was ever going to animate. I'd rather rebuild it from scratch. I do use QemLoss2 a lot though. Mostly, I'll use it on a complex character and then paste that character into a background layer in modeler to give my modeling a human scale to work off of. It's great also to make proxy, or stand-in objects for scenes.