PDA

View Full Version : Troubles with LW&WinXP...help me!?

LAV
04-08-2004, 08:29 AM
Hi. I teach in a post secondary level school for building surveyors and land technicians.
In the 2003 I attended to a course in another city school, having successfully installed Lw7.5 on a Windows 98SE system. Today I have to install the package on Windows XP PRO to teach LW basics.

Problems: LW was installed on a Windows XP PRO machine without problems. Modeler and Layout open cleanly. But resizeing their windows causes a program crash. I obviously resized the program windows started in an 800x600 window mode, to fit the screen.
In every P4 WinXP Pro I tryed to install LW programs crashes in an identical way.
I am not an expert of WinXP (never used, to be honest) but I use LW in Win98SE, Win ME and Win 2000 without problem.

Can you help me? I have to start the lessons on April,16. I am in trouble!

Many thanks!

gjjackson
04-08-2004, 11:32 AM
I would look into the OpenGL drivers. There's a number of issues there that can cause problems. Also if you have DirectX installed that can cause issues, even though LW doesn't use DirectX. For example hardware anti-aliasing. etc.

LAV
04-08-2004, 04:57 PM
I'll control the drivers.
Maybe I used a wrong word: they don't crash. they are blocked (you know, when windows don't refresh and turn white).
Thanks

newagetitan
04-08-2004, 06:16 PM
I have WinXP Media Center Edition, which is essentially Pro with some extra goodies. I never have any problems. Well, there is the one weird problem with tool tips, but otherwise it is error free.
Most video problems tend to be Video Card/Video Drivers related.
I have a GeForce FX 5600. I can only advise you to get all of the latest drivers for your OS and Video Card.

LAV
04-09-2004, 04:19 PM
I found that graphic chipset is SiS 650 (8 Mb RAM). Have you ever had troubles with that? Looking in the site (www.sis.com) the chipset seems to be fully OpenGL. I didn't Know it before. Can you help me?