PDA

View Full Version : Adding RAM question

mholder
04-05-2004, 09:35 AM
I'm a novice, so any help with this would be greatly appreciated.

I'm using an HP XW4100 workstation and want speed my rendering times. After purchasing, and now returning, 512M of registered Ram, I realize that only unbuffered ECC ram will work. Is this correct? Before I do the buy and return dance again...will two 512M CT6472Z40B DDR PC3200, CL=3, Unbuffered ECC, DDR400, 26V, 64M x 72 work? Any other suggestions?

Thanks Again!

Bushmsn
04-05-2004, 01:02 PM
ecc is use for servers. Mostly

hrgiger
04-05-2004, 02:05 PM
RAM won't help speed up your rendering times.

JML
04-05-2004, 02:14 PM
ram can speed up your rendering time. (depends on your project size)
when you render, look at your hard drive light, if it's on a lot, it means the ram is full and it's accessing the virtual memory from the hard drive which is slower.. there, getting more ram will speed up you rendering.

Wade
04-05-2004, 04:10 PM
http://www.crucial.com

" Confused about which memory upgrade you need?
Eliminate the hassle and risk of getting the wrong memory guaranteed or your money back! In just 3 easy steps our Memory Advisor will show you exactly the right upgrade for your computer. "

Works for me - MOST manufactures have a page like this - select make then model.... :)

and for yours.

http://www.crucial.com/store/listparts.asp?Mfr%2BProductline=HP%2Bxw+Workstatio ns&mfr=HP&cat=RAM&model=xw4100&submit=Go

hrgiger
04-05-2004, 09:12 PM
Originally posted by jmnewtek
ram can speed up your rendering time. (depends on your project size)
when you render, look at your hard drive light, if it's on a lot, it means the ram is full and it's accessing the virtual memory from the hard drive which is slower.. there, getting more ram will speed up you rendering.