PDA

View Full Version : Looking for a 3d Package

LudWig222
04-04-2004, 12:14 PM
I know somewhere this probably has been talked about, but I am a small independent videographer who is looking to learn a
3d package to enhance my videos. I am new to the 3d scene and
am not a extremly good artist either.
However I am looking for a package that is easy to learn and that I can do anything I want including (modeling,special fx,explosions ect.)

I have tried maya learning and way too complicated, I have been working with 3ds max and its complicated but am learning some slowly.

I just want to make sure I am choosing the right application before I find out I am waisting countless hours trying to learn the wrong program for what I want to use it for.

I am a one man show, so no production crews.

Thanks for your time.

mkiii
04-04-2004, 07:56 PM
So you are using Max already & you want to know from a LW forum if that was a good choice?

Obviously we are going to say get Lightwave. It's the best value. Whatever you decide on, you will have to learn it well, and practise until you ache.

FWIW I think Maya is too complex for a beginner & you have to spend some serious cash to get the Unlimited version with the bells & whistles - ditto for XSI, but even more expensive (v nice looking app tho). Max - I hate Max, and have to use it at work. Some swear by it, probably because they have only ever used Max. Max is also too expensive.

I quite like Cinema4d, and it's base package is v cheap. Unfortunately, to get it up to the a similar spec as LW, you really need to buy the Studio bundle, which once again costs more than lightwave.

LW has one further advantage over some of the other apps, and that is a simple license transfer to a new user if you made a mistake & want to sell it. Try doing that with Max.

All these Apps, including LW have some sort of demo package available - so no reason not to download them all & try em.