PDA

View Full Version : Hollow Models

The_Gravedigger
04-03-2004, 09:32 PM
I am brand new to this as you will be able to tell from my very stupid question.

In modeler I have been modeling a few generic objects, such as a pawn.

When I load the pawn into Lightwave however I can see through the bottom of the pawn. Its hard to explain but the base of the pawn looks all funny as if the camera can see through it. At first I thought this was just how Lightwave viewed it but it looked just as bad in the final render.

I have had this same problem with a pillar I made today

I believe I am doing something wrong in the modeler. First I draw the outline of my object on the Y axis, then I use the Lathe tool and then I import the object. Is there something I should be doing like making the object solid or something so I wont have this problem in Lightwave?

hrgiger
04-03-2004, 10:51 PM
At first I thought you might be clipping the object with the camera. If that were the case, all you'd have to do is decrease your grid size in Layout. (Hit o for options)

But I think probably what it could be is that you have your polys filpped and facing the wrong way. Hit f in modeler to flip your polys so they're facing outwards.

If that's not it either, post a render so we can see the problem.

mkiii
04-04-2004, 03:33 AM
Some explanation of why this happens:

If an inverted shape *is* the problem, read on - otherwise ignore.

Looking in the back viewport to draw your initial shape, you have to bear in mind that this is the BACK of the poly, so you need to draw the points in what seems like an anti-clockwise direction, which is the reverse of the norm.

You get used to this way of working after a while.