PDA

View Full Version : help... Export displacement animation?

2kilo
03-30-2004, 03:41 PM
Hi, sorry I'm new to Lightwave and have been running a few test when I got totally stumped...

Basically I want to export a test animation of some waves to direct x [or 3ds] to import into DarkBasic Pro. The waves were easily created using a "turbulence" displacement map in the item properties box [the "T" button].

But then comes the problem, how to get this animation outta Lightwave
-Have tried D_Storms plug [no deform appears]
-Have tried Deep Exploration [no deform appears]
-Milkshape appears not to import Lws [only Lwo]

I guess I need to "bake" the objects "displacement map" deform animation into a different mesh per frame..?

Any help would be great, even If anyone can just point me in the right direction..?

ALSO
There's quite a large hobbyist Game Dev community out there, and Lightwave offers such good value/features for the money that I'm sure with little extra help on the export side it would become the number one package to use [starting at the bottom with the hobbyists may lead up the ladder to the Pro's?]. Cinema 3D and GameSpace are in danger of taking this market over..?

Mattoo
03-30-2004, 06:09 PM
I think you might have your wires crossed a bit as there is no way to get any displacement animation out of any package in the way that you describe. (other than morph maps and similar things, and that'd be hugely expensive on RAM and not condusive for realtime).

By the sounds of it, what you want is to use DirectXs' vertex shading to displace the surface or perhaps faked with a pixel shader.
I'm affraid that would almost certainly all be done programatically and perhaps previewed through the nVidia Cg package via software that supports it, such as Maya or 3DS MAX. But even having those packages and access to Cg wouldn't allow you to do what you wish as easily as you describe in your mail.

Mylenium
03-30-2004, 10:21 PM