PDA

View Full Version : Quadro FX500



Jockomo
03-25-2004, 02:23 PM
I have just ordered this card, I thought it supported dual monitors, but now I am not so sure.

Is anyone running dual monitors with this card?

flohtzke
03-25-2004, 04:03 PM
yesh me!

it works quiet allright for me...:)


flo

flohtzke
03-25-2004, 04:09 PM
i hope that this will help

Jockomo
03-25-2004, 06:34 PM
Flohtzke,

Hehe thanks very much. I feel much better now.

Wickster
03-25-2004, 07:03 PM
OOHH Sweet! I was planning to get this card also...maybe later... like when i get my allowance from my wife:(

Anyways anybody knows a good place to buy this particular card? any problems with it? thanks in advance.

tjacobs
03-25-2004, 09:42 PM
Better question would be what are the video outputs (Analog / Digital). My Quadro 700 has one Analog, one Digital. I have to use a converter plug for my second 21 inch monitor. Because of the converter, I believe, the colors have a different hue on the second monitor.

Jockomo
03-25-2004, 11:07 PM
is one analog and one digital, like the 700 I think.
Have you tried adjusting the hue with the color correction settings tjacobs?

Wickster,

I got the card from Dell for 169.00. But I ordered it as a replacement part (which I never had... muahaha) . Somehow I don't think the guy was supposed to sell it to me, but Dell doesn't seem to be hiring the brightest people at the moment. Their website shows a dual monitor verto GeForce FX 5200 AGP and I ordered it 3 times, and each time was sent a single monitor version of that card. Sad to say I think Dell may have outgrown their ability to keep the high standards they had a few years ago. I hope it doesn't start to affect their computers as I have always felt they were solid.

Jockomo
03-26-2004, 01:18 AM
I have also been considering getting the GeForce FX 5200, which has similar specs for a slightly lower price.

According to Tom's Hardware:

"It (the Quadro FX500)is based on the NV34GL graphics chip. The classic NV34, by the way, also features the GeForce FX 5200.

I have found an ASUS FX5200 card that has 2 DVI connectors, (instead of one vga and one DVI) which I think would be better in the long run when I upgrade to dual Flatpanels. Plus it has Video in and Outputs

ASUS GeForce FX5200 (http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProductDesc.asp?description=14-121-151&depa=0)

So this one seems to have much more utility at similar speeds, but it doesn't actually qualify as a "professional" card.

Any thoughts on this?

flohtzke
03-26-2004, 01:55 AM
i thinks that both card are nearlly (don't know how to spell it , on day i will learn english, on day.....anyway... :D)
...the same, the Quadro FX500 has a OPEN-GL SETTINGS'option for programms like lightwave, conbustion and so on... this is maby one of the differents between those two cards...
aslo one of the reason i buy the fx500 because it was cheap and i got combustion 2 for free with it, hehehe this was a pretty good offer for me, with the only restriction that you can't upgrade to combustion3....

i don't know if this can help...

btw. i'm still sorry for my bad english

flo

omeone
03-26-2004, 02:04 AM
Holy Cr*p that list of software is worth more than my house :o

flohtzke
03-26-2004, 02:08 AM
don't worry

thats only the settings option for the card :) not the programms i have....

i've got only lightwave , combustion , DFX, ...


flo

omeone
03-26-2004, 02:09 AM
;)

flohtzke
03-26-2004, 02:11 AM
oh yesh


and blender and wings...:D

Sastira
03-26-2004, 02:40 AM
GeForce FX is geared toward gaming, Quadro FX is geared toward workstation graphics...

The quadro will do much much better for lightwave and stuff like that... but not nearly as well in games as the GeForce..

Depends on what you are looking for.