PDA

View Full Version : Bushes, trees and forests



Alan Safewood
03-17-2004, 04:11 AM
Hi all

I'm about to make a big scenery that is somewhat agricultural. What should I use to make trees look like forests instead of single trees.

It's also important that the polygons are at a reasonable number.

Does anyone know some tricks?

Regards
Alan

chilledaqua
03-17-2004, 09:47 AM
try using clip maps in some way.. maybe connect the geometry across multiple trunks instead of individual

Johnnyx
03-17-2004, 11:14 AM
Try HD Instance.. then you can have as many trees etc. that you want for only the poly cost of the first one!

http://www.happy-digital.com/instance.asp

J

Nigel Baker
03-17-2004, 11:25 AM
Have you heard about HD Instance.
Its a plugin by happy-digital.com and allows you to have one image or object and multiples of it without the added render times compared to your scene if they were all individual objects.

PS it cost 149 Credits

Hope it helps.;)

Alan Safewood
03-18-2004, 01:21 AM
Hey, that looks great!
I'll try it.

Thanks :D

Alan Safewood
03-24-2004, 06:40 AM
Hi folks

I've bought HD Instance, and just wondered... is there a special procedure to render the instances, or do you render as usual in Lightwave?

Thanks again
and Best Regards

Rune :-)