PDA

View Full Version : Fibre Channel Array: Do it yourself!



Titus
03-16-2003, 08:57 AM
Hi there!,

Just wanted to share this link I found at slashdot.org:

http://www.amdzone.com/articleview.cfm?articleid=1254

johnq
03-16-2003, 10:32 AM
Well, it seems to me the author went to a lot of work for a medium performance array. FC at 1 giga bit per second is only about 125 Mega bytes (MB) per second (and that's being generous). My 3Ware IDE RAID-0 can do 180 MB/sec during disk transfers, while my 6 drive SCSI RAID-0 can do 205 MB/sec. The SCSI array is actually limited because it is connected to a 64 bit 33 MHZ PCI bus (266 MB/sec max).

john

Faraz
03-16-2003, 11:30 AM
But isn't the advantage of Fibre Channel is you can access the drives from multiple computers with the same performance.

sptbg_vt_geek
04-01-2003, 07:51 PM
Originally posted by Faraz
But isn't the advantage of Fibre Channel is you can access the drives from multiple computers with the same performance.

That is what it was made for originally (Hence the AMDZone Article Author always mentioning SANs and NAS systems) but if you can get it to work right w/ the VT it would be VERY nice for project storage and directly editing off of the Fibre-ed hard drives (that is if you can get the speed)

SPEED SPEED SPEED :D

sptbg_vt_geek
04-01-2003, 07:52 PM
Almost forgot, in case the newbies don't know

SAN = Storage Area Network
NAS = Network Attached Storage