PDA

View Full Version : Skeligons and parenting



prospector
03-15-2004, 12:02 PM
Is there a way to parent 'in place' skeligons in Modeler?

It dosen't seem to be saving the parenting higherarchy from Layout with the Model.

I've tried saving object, saving transformed object, and whwn model reloaded the bone is back where it was when I modeled it.
(un-parented)

evenflcw
03-15-2004, 01:35 PM
To my understanding, no there isn't.

For skelegons to have a child/parent relationship they need to be connected/touching eachother.

Personally I prefer to leave herarchies floating and then parent-in-place in Layout as opposed to creating extra skelegons to keep them all connected.

prospector
03-15-2004, 01:53 PM
And how do you save the model so all parenting stays?

I must be loosing the parenting when I load the model into madeler and resave it.

Or else Layout dosen't remember.

Shouldn't this be a basic setting in modeler for bones???????

DigiLusionist
03-15-2004, 02:37 PM
Yes, you can parent one skelegon to another in Layout using Parent In Place. For example: a floating hip bone to the Pelvis, without a skelegon connecting them.

For those of you who don't know, open up the Options Panel in Layout and activate Parent In Place.

Convert the skelegons to bones.

Then, select the child bone you want to parent and open up the Motion Options panel (this is only one way to parent). Using the drop-down menu within this panel, select the bone you want to be the parent.

prospector
03-15-2004, 08:07 PM
:D Yes, you can parent one skelegon to another in Layout using Parent In Place.

UMMM..we were looking for way in Modeler;)

DigiLusionist
03-15-2004, 09:41 PM
gee, sorry, prospector.

prospector
03-15-2004, 10:20 PM
NP, thought ya might have missed it;)

DigiLusionist
03-15-2004, 10:23 PM
uh huh

Hope you get the answer to your question.