PDA

View Full Version : No Serial/parrelell port on new dual 3.4



Intuition
03-11-2004, 04:08 PM
How can I dongle my Lightwave on my new dual 3.4 ghz comp?

It has no serial/parallel port?

Is there a USB dongle available?

ANy thoughts would be appreciated.

I own two Lightwave dongles but both are the same old serial dongle.

PLease lemme know what I can do.

This render beast wants some action.,

Jockomo
03-11-2004, 04:20 PM
You can contact NewTek and get your serial dongles replaced with USB ones.

Intuition
03-11-2004, 04:35 PM
OH, sounds good. SO they do have USB dongles. nice.

MiniFireDragon
03-12-2004, 08:22 AM
Youn can also spen about $30 - $50 and goto a Computer store and buy yourself a PCI Serial/Parallel card.

BUT - I have heard and experienced problems trying to get keys to work. But since u don't have an LPT1, u will prolly be ok.

Intuition
03-12-2004, 12:30 PM
I thought of that but I think I'll use the usb dongle.

I wonder if they utilize the same number on the dongle because if they don't I will have to call up a lot of the plug in companies since makers like Worley utilize the dongle number for activation as well?

going to be on everyone's tech support for a few days.
:rolleyes:

mlinde
03-12-2004, 04:15 PM
Originally posted by Intuition
I thought of that but I think I'll use the usb dongle.

I wonder if they utilize the same number on the dongle because if they don't I will have to call up a lot of the plug in companies since makers like Worley utilize the dongle number for activation as well?

going to be on everyone's tech support for a few days.
:rolleyes: When you swap out your dongle, you get a new license code. You have to get an email from NT to fwd to your plugin developers to get new licenses from them for the new dongle as well. My only suggestion is to FedEx the dongle, save the time that can normally be a week between dongles.