PDA

View Full Version : how does "RotateAnyAxis" work ?



chauhulu
03-15-2003, 05:58 PM
how does "RotateAnyAxis" work ?
can anybody tell me, how the modify tool "RotateAnyAxis" really works ?
i understand the other similar tool "Ratate-arbitrary-Axis" very well,
but i don't understand what the value to be keyed in in the panel.
it seems not to be a value with degree unit. and what dose it mean
with the sentance:"the rotation is centered an the axis point nearest
to the orgin."?
i use the lightwave 3d 7.0.

DaveW
03-15-2003, 07:05 PM
Put a 2-point poly in the background layer, just like the docs say. That poly will be the new axis of rotation. The part you have underlined in red tells you that the action center will be changed to the vertex of the polyline that is closest to 0,0,0.

chauhulu
03-15-2003, 08:08 PM
i have made a test,
see following graphics:


1st:
before rotation
the angle is 45 degree(blue line)

chauhulu
03-15-2003, 08:09 PM
2nd:
i key in the value 30 for ratation

chauhulu
03-15-2003, 08:14 PM
3rd:
the result of the rotation

obviously the angle of the rotation is not 30 degree,
but over 45 degree.

or, should i measure another point to get the angle 30 that i've keyed in ?

Hurben
03-16-2003, 11:05 AM
Well, I'm not sure why it's doing that, in fact I've never used it before, but just to make it really clear, I decided to rotate the box in photoshop 30 degrees to see the difference..

call me bored :)

DaveW
03-16-2003, 04:16 PM
I tried it out here and it does look like the plugin isn't working right. However, Rotate-Arbitrary-Axis is a plugin that does the exact same thing as RotateAnyAxis, only it actually works. Try using that instead.

chauhulu
03-16-2003, 05:43 PM
thanx ! u are right.
i think ,it is just a old function that was not removed
from the programm.
i wander if there are still many such things in the programm.