PDA

View Full Version : How to make a plane?

foody678
03-09-2004, 03:18 PM
im sorry but i lost the guide manual for my Lightwave so does anyone know how to make a plane? Since im a noob at Lightwave and im taking tutorials and a lot of them start with make a plane... Thanks!

mattclary
03-09-2004, 04:15 PM
I would just use the box tool and not give it a height. ;)

themaxx
03-09-2004, 11:01 PM
Originally posted by foody678
im sorry but i lost the guide manual for my Lightwave so does anyone know how to make a plane? Since im a noob at Lightwave and im taking tutorials and a lot of them start with make a plane... Thanks!

here's a tip for not blowing your pirate cover: don't tell people you lost the manual. ;)

mkiii
03-10-2004, 01:23 AM
Especially when a proper install includes the manual in the docs folder.

ruud
03-10-2004, 02:41 AM
or. you could just do this:

set four points in the top view by pressing (+)

select them clockwise (if it isn't selected already)

and press "p" on your keyboard

and tadaaaaa!!! here's your plane.

(why... WHY!!! am I telling this!!!!)

Greetz, and have fun on learning LW

Ruuter

WCameron
03-10-2004, 07:49 AM
or make a tube. lasso the front and bevel it a few times into a rounded nose. then do the same to the back end only bevel it to a pointed sort of end.

make two cuts near each other near the nose using the Knife tool or Bandsaw. and one cut near the rear.
Select a polygon on each side between the first two cuts near the nose, and extrude them out to the sides. then select one polygon on the top between the third cut and the last section of the tail (or more than one polygon even) and Extrude it upward.

tada. Plane.

- Will.
heh

themaxx
03-10-2004, 10:24 AM
Originally posted by WCameron
or make a tube. lasso the front and bevel it a few times into a rounded nose. then do the same to the back end only bevel it to a pointed sort of end.