PDA

View Full Version : paint in 16bit only?



saajjj
03-15-2003, 09:11 AM
Hello,
The following is pasted from the feature list for Aura 2.5:
"Super high quality painting engine. Paint in 16bits color depth amazingly fast on 32bits layers."

Does this mean we can only paint in 65536 colors?

Cheers

radams
03-15-2003, 12:41 PM
Hi saajjj,

normally we had 8 bit drawing which is actually how we get 32 bit... 3x 8 rgb for 24 bit plus 8 bits of alpha for a 32 bit image... in 16 bit we get 3x 16 rgb for 48 bit plus 8 or 16 bits of alpha.... so 16 is more accurate than 8 :)

FYI

Raymond Adams
Producer/Designer
R Creative Touch

saajjj
03-15-2003, 05:56 PM
Thanks for clearing this up

saajjj
03-15-2003, 06:52 PM
Hello,
Someone else mentioned this:

" so it's 16 bit color depth per channel for a total of 48 bit color depth plus 8 or 16 bits for alpha? But the layers are only 32 bits "

So hmm.. shouldn't they be ermm. something like 56-64bit layers?

Cheers