PDA

View Full Version : Getting ready to buy!!!

19usmc87
03-04-2004, 04:18 PM
Hi,

My name is Allan Leslie and I am a video production teacher at Saline High School, MI. We are currently finishing work on a brand new high school set to open this fall. Within the new school is a new video production classroom. We are buying VT3 system as our main switching platform. After reading some of the posts for the past week I am excited about the prospects of new equipment and the VT3 system. The forum is great. As a potential new user I am hoping that I could get some basic questions answered. My biggest concern is with the Windows/Mac platform issues. We use Macs for all of our editing, and CG work. PhotoShop and Final Cut Pro. I was hoping to stay in DV format (we use 3ccd mini DV cameras).

How user freindly is the VT3 system with Final Cut Pro?

I was thinking of a G5 or Xserver (apple) as a video server. Connecting our six G5 editing stations running final cut pro. Will I be able to connect the VT3 to the Video Server ?

Also we run a educational access cable channel and was wondering how this component can fit in with the VT3. We currently are using VCR's and a scheduler (software based) to output to our channel at various times.

Can all 4 work together(G5 editing stations, apple Video Server, VT3, and cable access scheduler ?

An Example project might be student works on project in FCP saves onto Xserver/G5 video server. Grab project from Video server and input into VT3 interface as a source?(without having to duplicate project?) for morning announcements shown during 2nd hour (not live but could be). From there we want to use the same project for a slot on the cable access channel later in the eveining at 7pm. could I do this?