PDA

View Full Version : My new build for LW8!!!



SLAYER
03-03-2004, 09:01 PM
I am grinning quite a bit right now anticipating how this thing will be.

I will be going from an Athlon 1.4 to this, so it should be quite the improvement!

This will also be my first complete build so hopefully I will not have too many issues, but I am sure I will stumble somewhere.

Here are the specs:

-Athlon 64 3400+ and Thermaltake CPU fan w/external bay controls

-Gigabyte K8NNXP Motherboard

-Western Digital (Caviar) 250 Gig Hard drive

-1 gig Kingston PC4000 DDR RAM

-TDK 880N 8X DVD Burner

-SoundBlaster Audigy 2 ZS Platinum Sound card

-EVGA G-Force FX 5900 SE Video Card.

Since I am doing a new build, I will also finally upgrade from Windows 2000 to Win XP.

I could have splurged a bit more on the card, but research led me to the conclusion that bang for the buck, these 5900 SE or 5900 XT cards are pretty killer. Video cards are worse than CPU's these days in regard to the frequency in the changes and rate at which new ones are released, so this on e should do quite well for now.

All of this will be going into a new Lian Li PC-65 aluminum case w/side window.

I thinks this will be quite the screamer. What do you think?

ikaruz
03-03-2004, 10:41 PM
Very nice, I know what you must be feeling like :D. Did you do any benchmark test with your current system to compare with the new one?

Hervé
03-03-2004, 11:42 PM
still running a 1900 dual amd.... I have a question... withyour newsystem, will you see a real speed jump...?

WizCraker
03-03-2004, 11:43 PM
What kind of case are you putting all the goodies in?

WizCraker
03-03-2004, 11:44 PM
oops guess I should read before replying. How about a snapshot of that case.

js33
03-04-2004, 12:35 AM
Looks like a sweet setup. The only problem is now that F Prime is coming out you won't need that super fast CPU now. :D

Just kidding a faster CPU is always good especially now that it is 64 bit. :D

Cheers,
JS

Johnnyx
03-04-2004, 02:36 AM
wow - sweet.. Be sure and let us know how it runs.. umm looks expensive..?

liquidik
03-04-2004, 03:32 AM
You could have bought win xp professional OEM, and still saved some bucks

petermark
03-04-2004, 07:06 AM
I noticed that XP OEM is going for about the same price as the upgrade... what's up with that? Is its license crippled in any way? Or do they just feel like screwing over those of us that already blew $230 on 2000?

Chazz
03-04-2004, 07:27 AM
Wow... I was looking at a lot of the same gear myself last week. I'm thinking of rebuilding my Athlon 1.7 soon.

If you don't mind me asking, aside from Windows XP, approximately how much would this be setting someone back?

Jaffro
03-04-2004, 08:12 AM
I wish i was building that! What a system, very cool :) Cant wait to see what sort of speeds you get.

Para
03-04-2004, 08:31 AM
Originally posted by petermark
I noticed that XP OEM is going for about the same price as the upgrade... what's up with that? Is its license crippled in any way? Or do they just feel like screwing over those of us that already blew $230 on 2000?

No tech support, manual or anything "extra". WinUpdate of course works.

mattclary
03-04-2004, 01:04 PM
Excellent choice on the video card! It's the same one I have!