PDA

View Full Version : How do I import an ARCHICAD file into LW?



Skritter
03-02-2004, 05:45 AM
I need an answer to what object files can be IMPORTED into Modeller.

Someone has created a building in ARCHICAD and I need to tell him how I need it to import into LW.

Can LW take a native ARCHICAD file? or

He can convert it to a 3D Studio Max File - Can I import that?

Any answer to how I can get this model into LW thanks

Jooa
03-02-2004, 07:35 AM
Hi!
I usually export 3ds file from Archicad and then just open it into LW. Remember to choose "All files" in the open menu.

Skritter
03-02-2004, 07:42 AM
So just to understand this right, you are saying Lightwave is capable of opening up a .3ds file nativaly through the 'Load Object' command?

I do not have 3D Studio Max or any .3ds files to test.

ingo
03-02-2004, 07:55 AM
A 3ds file yes, NOT a max file !

Igu4n4
03-02-2004, 08:04 AM
Yes, you can easily load in a 3dstudio file. Do not ask for a 3ds Max file as it has proprietory file handlers that even to translate (via 3rd party programs) you need to have 3ds Max on your computer.

Just load the 3ds file like you normally would, making sure that when you are looking for the file, as said above "All files" is selected in your file type so you can see the file with the .3ds extension, and away you go.

Good luck.

Steve McArdle.
www.iguana-den.com

Skritter
03-02-2004, 08:38 AM
o.k thanks guys

I thought .3ds = 3d Studio Max (Is that wrong?)

What is .3ds ? - is it a specific file format or is it a generic one.

Igu4n4
03-02-2004, 09:48 AM
.3ds = 3d studio

.max = 3dsmax scene files


Stick with .3ds and you're golden. (well for the load anyway ;)


Steve.