PDA

View Full Version : Question about VT3 upgrade



lwaddict
03-01-2004, 12:15 PM
I originally purchased the VT2 Animator's Edition which came with Lightwave 7 but haven't been able to upgrade/patch the Lightwave edition that it came with so...

I'm looking at upgrading to the VT3...
I figure that I'd get 7.5c at least with it right?

So I contact the Newtek sales rep for the west coast and he tells me that I would ONLY get the VT3 upgrade and not the Lightwave???

What happened? Did I miss something?

ted
03-01-2004, 12:21 PM
I think the offer expired.
There might be some dealers that have some of those VT3 offers on a shelf.
I'm just guessing though since I'm not a reseller.
VT3 was a huge improvement though. Even without LW, it's a worthwhile upgrade just for the spline control tree.

lwaddict
03-02-2004, 06:45 AM
I sure hope this is not the case.

If I'm going to bother upgrading an "Animator's Edition",
for which I paid some big bucks, then I think I should be
getting a full upgrade. Not just the VT3.

I understand that Aura was discontinued, no probs there
since the version I've got rocks the house but I should be
getting LW7.5c at least.

Paul???

robewil
03-02-2004, 10:04 AM
Aura is not discontinued although it probably won't be developed any further. Aura is part of the VT3 package.

Paul Lara
03-02-2004, 10:16 AM
Originally posted by lwaddict
...he tells me that I would ONLY get the VT3 upgrade and not the Lightwave???

What happened? Did I miss something?

No, but you may have misunderstood.
The upgrade to VT[3] Animator's Edition gives you the VT[3] suite of tools and LightWave 7.5c, which is keyed to the VT[3] card, instead of a USB dongle.

lwaddict
03-03-2004, 01:08 PM
As usual, Paul straightens me out.

Thanks Paul.

I'd now be upgrading pronto.