PDA

View Full Version : Help really needed

moonie
02-25-2004, 10:56 PM
tks for looking out in here, im currently studying and need to hand in a project that involves using lightwave to create a car advertistment and in my team im the one that involves creating a environment to use for the advert. I hope that someone can provide me some help such as tutorial on how to do surfacing , lightning and some modelling such as trees , terrain. I never use lightwave before hope that someone can help out tks

prospector
02-26-2004, 12:05 AM
Here are some tips

Trees...
Download some tree pics from a source that only shows the tree and no other bkgrnd, most likely from a nature site, I have a book like that that I use from EYEWITNESS HANDBOOKS by ALLEN J. COOMBES that I got from Banes and Nobles for about 9 bucks.

Fhotocopy the trees you want.
Then in photoshop take the tree and 'CUT out the tree and leave the background color, (in my book it is white.

Fill the tree area that you cut with black, then invert so tree is white and bkgrnd is black.
save as 'Tree clip' and save the tree pic as tree.

In modeler nmake a rectangle the size you want the tree to be and map it as UV and planer.

Put the polys along the rout that your auto will take so that they are angled or facing the car.

In layout load the polys and set the surface to UV Planer and load the tree pics, then use the Tree clip to erase the background and leaving only the tree pic.

There's your forest.

For terrain you can do a cupla ways,

Fast...make a flat plane in modeler as big as you need to do the video, subdivide ('shift_D') a lot of times, the using the magnet tool raise some hills in the plane.

then save

in phottoshop, make a rectangle pic longer than high and do a green to brown...my mind went blank, but it goes from green on top to brown on bottom pic..Dang can't remember what it's called..
Anyways save it