PDA

View Full Version : Anyone using Mirage for OS X?

JackDeL
02-25-2004, 05:43 AM
I'm been using Lightwave for almost 2 years, but I am a total noob as far as compositors go. and I've been trying to figure out which application to buy for compositing & post work.

On the surface, Mirage looks like exactly what I need. I plan on doing things along the lines of Albee's Ghost warrior movie, but he uses digital fusion, which of course is not available on Mac :mad:

Does anyone here know how Mirage stacks up to FCP, Combustion or DF?

Sorry if this is a dumb question. :rolleyes:

Thanks!

JackDeL

riki
02-25-2004, 07:01 AM
Try a search of the forums, I know this has been discussed before.

Sorry I forget the finer details but I think the general gist was 'no' their not the same, or not comparable.

Jirapong
02-25-2004, 09:31 AM
I've too been using LW for a while and looking for the composition software. After went though Mirage website, I think it is not for composing screen. You might need to look at After Effect or Combustion. I'm looking at combustion 3. It seems to have more avantage in 3d than AE (Standard version). Also, you can check at Macmall if you are in US. They have pretty good deal, $780 instead of $1000 from Discreet resellers.

harlan
02-25-2004, 12:05 PM
Well first off, Mirage doesn't compare to FCP at all. FCP is a non-linear editing package. Mirage is a Paint, Animation, and effects application. Mirage is actually quite a bit more than that, as you can use it for comping, etc...

Although the demo version of Mirage that I played with had quite a few bugs in it, it was pretty damn nice. I highly recommend it as it's one of those "swiss army knife" kind of tools. Buy it, support it, use it, enjoy it.

Don't not purchase FCP, Combustion, or anything else because you think that Mirage may work better than those apps. Look at the feature sets of each tool and decide what will get the job done. Buy Mirage anyways, because it's fun and cheap.

Jirapong