PDA

View Full Version : Game Animation?

zecryan
02-22-2004, 04:55 PM
I am new to game 3D modeling and was wondering how to create 3d animation for a character for use in a game. are the animation the i create in lawout, can they be used in the game engine for animation?

Meaty
02-22-2004, 05:16 PM
they can be used in games, however, you typically need a third party exporter which will port the animation data to the game platform you want to use it for.

WilliamVaughan
02-22-2004, 05:47 PM
My suggestion would be to go and buy Serious Sam gold edition (very affordable) and give the editor a go. That is how I broke into games and it was an easy transition from LightWave to their editor. Killer games as well :)

cresshead
02-22-2004, 07:24 PM
also www.lostpencil.com have a 4.5 hour training video with lightwave and a game engine for about $30 and it comes with the chracter and the level plus the demo of the game engine too..all you need to know about getting a character/animation into a game.

direct link for you:

http://www.lostpencil.com/justanimate_ga.html

cheers

steve g

WilliamVaughan
02-22-2004, 08:18 PM
Forgot about that....I have that CD and was very happy with it. Desse's character was great in that!

Qslugs
02-23-2004, 08:32 AM