PDA

View Full Version : Fprime pricepoint poll

cresshead
02-21-2004, 01:54 AM
okay we don't know exactly what it's all about as yet, but it sure looks to be a killer plugin...

so as a general interest...by what we know already what would be the "no brainer" buy it now price for everyone...take into consideration that it looks to be a real time saver for previews and setting up your scenes REALLY FAST...and it's similar to G2 in some areas...

personally i'd say a figure or btween $100 to $200 would get nearly everyone who has lightwave to buy this cutting edge technology for their lightwave..and remember it runs on lw7.5 and lightwave 8 too.

cagey5
02-21-2004, 02:19 AM
Speaking as a hobbyist I voted $200 as a no brainer anything more than that I would have to think long and hard on, but it would probably fall into the 'Nice to have' box, but put it out of my price bracket. [Mental note: generate a 'Really Really Nice to have' box]
Having said that I'm sure the studios will buy at the drop of a hat irrespective of price because it will pay for itself and the professional individuals would also be prepared to pay more than $200.
I'm just hoping he's going for the 'pitch it low and cast a wide net' approach because I'm sure this is a product everyone wants it's just whether or not they can afford it.

jamesl
02-21-2004, 04:28 AM
I voted for $500, and if you had an option for $1000, I would have voted that. Jeez, you guys... if someone told you a week ago that you could have near instananeous raytraced feedback for your renders in LW, wouldn't you just go nuts?
$200? That's all it's worth to you? Granted, if you're a hobbiest, you might not be able to step up, but if you make a living with this stuff, I'll bet it pays for itself with one or two jobs at $1K!

I just hope Steve sees something big out of this, so he continues to develop for LW.

cheers,

j

cagey5
02-21-2004, 04:31 AM
Yep. I think that's what I said!

3DBob
02-21-2004, 04:56 AM