PDA

View Full Version : SALARIES and OUTSOURCING in the CG field

redefine9
02-20-2004, 04:02 AM
Hi,

I just joined this forum, and Im currently a 3rd year student at Cal state fullerton.

I want to get into the CG/3D animation field, but I have gotten very mixed answers as to HOW MUCH exactly to cg artists get payed.

I am well aware that it depends on the field and area of concentration, ...

I am most interested in feature films and video games, and modeling, as well as maybe some animation...

My question is, how much does the starting cg artist make (with a 4 year degree).... and does a 4 year degree even matter???

What is the average salary for a person who has been in the field for many years, and what about the salaries for people who have a masters degree in a CG related field?.

I pretty much taught myself webdesign and graphic design, and im pretty good at it, but the pay seemed crappy, and CG seemed more interesting (and promising).

Also, what are the chances that high-end CG work could be outsourced to places like India, much like what is happening in the IT and programming fields???

Thanks alot. I am pretty clueless about all of this.

DigiLusionist
02-21-2004, 05:09 PM
Starting salary for an artist with a very good demo reel is around $36,500-$42,500. This depends on your skill as an artist and technician, and on the company's size and culture.

The degree doesn't matter when starting off. Just the reel. The degree matters when you're experienced enough to apply for upper management positions. Even then, that's not so much the case at present.

However, having a post-secondary education helps you to add more to your art, and to think more critically. In other words, you're more apt to do work that isn't simply rehashing other's ideas. You're better able to come up with your own ideas, and that will better inform your work.