PDA

View Full Version : I'm a newbie and I SUCK!

Utanure
02-18-2004, 09:08 AM
I just got LW 7, I know I COULD get 8, but I've had 7 sitting around until I got my OWN PC and now I do! Anyway, I'm trying to do this "blood cells" tutorial and even though I have the user manual, it's INCREDIBLY complicated!

So, here's my dilemma:

I'm trying to make a square in the TOP view, and I want to size it down. My mode is "Selection", but when I use the size tool, I see the four points moving, but not the lines connecting them!? What gives? Can someone help me?

CoryC
02-18-2004, 09:36 AM
I am assuming you are having problems at fig. 1 getting it to look like fig. 2?

You should have had a box with 4 sections. Then select the 4 outside points in Point mode. Resize the points until the box is shaped more like a circle. Is this what you did? If so and you are still having problems can you post a screen shot of your problem?

Utanure
02-18-2004, 09:52 AM
I'm assuming that giving the box 4 sections is different from simply selecting the "box" tab and drawing it that way, correct? I DO notice that in the tutorial's screenshot of the box before being resized, that it has lines running the length of the X and Y axis, but I'm assuming that they weren't drawn seeing as how that's not one of the steps. How can I achieve this? Please, bear with me, I'm a newbie.

CoryC
02-18-2004, 10:10 AM
That might be your problem. They didn't explain how to segment the box. You can do it one of two ways. First, draw your square. While you are still making it, put your mouse arrow in the top view screen and use the forward/backward arrow keys to add/delete segments on the width and the up/down arrow keys to add/selete segments to the depth. The other way it through the numerical panel. Start your box and press 'n'. The numeric panel should show up. Under segents you want x to be 2 and z to be 2. Either way you should see your box divide.