PDA

View Full Version : About setting up bones...

happyslave7
02-17-2004, 10:32 PM
I'm modeling bones in modeler and then converting them in layout.

After conversion I set up the parenting and then have the bones connected to the weight maps I put on my character. I then change the "Use Bones From Object" layer to the correct layer my bones are on (when I made them in modeler).

But the bones are still not deforming my character, they dont do anything. What am I doing wrong?

I can explain further if anyone needs me to.

Thanks.

themaxx
02-17-2004, 10:59 PM
i believe the bones have to be in the same layer as the geometry, (but i'm still pretty new to this so i could be wrong).

david_B
02-17-2004, 11:07 PM
howdy slave.

The simple answer to this question is to cut and paste your bones/skelegons into the same layer as your object (in modeller). This automatically creates the connection between the skelegons and the model.

If you're worried about not being able to easily select the skelegons again, you can bring up the statistics window (press "w") and select your skelegons from there.

Also, you may want to make sure that your weight maps are named exactly the same as your bones. Just one character off makes all the difference.

Just as a tip, an easy way to make sure that all of your weight maps/bones have the same names is to go to: Map:Weight & Colour:Bone Weights, then change the Threshold value to 0 and the Use Threshold to 'Clip'.

Bone Weights is an automated weight map setup thing, which is fine if you're creating snakes, but for anything more complicated it really hinders more than helps.

But the above settings create a whole set of weight maps with no actual "weight" applied. Just the correct names! Then you can go through and create all of your weight maps, knowing that all of your names will be correct.

Hope that all made sense.

Dodgy
02-18-2004, 03:55 AM