PDA

View Full Version : Firewire 800



Rich Deustachio
02-15-2004, 09:53 PM
Anyone using firewire 800 for input or backup?

Firewire Back-up (http://www.apstech.com/prod/index.cfm?cat=1&CFID=291970&CFTOKEN=37829716)

videoguy
02-16-2004, 01:58 PM
I posted this awhile back we are seriously looking into two of thoose terebyte drives with firewire 800 i think you could get 2 streams of compressed video. right no we get about 6 streams with our 4 120gbs drive raided what i want to do is have one of the terebyte systems for xtra storage and one for back up

ted
02-16-2004, 03:09 PM
In one sentence it says you can use W98 or above. The first sentence says, "Truly plug and play, this device requires no driver or software installation for Windows XP and Mac OS X users".

I assume that means you can use it with W2K but you'll just need some extra software installed?

While I doubt I'll be getting one this month, it looks like a great option for my neverending paranoid backup feaver.:rolleyes:

Rich Deustachio
03-10-2004, 11:31 AM
Just wanted to follow up, I bought one of these LaCie Big Disk 320 gig drives and an 800 firewire card. All I can say is wow! I backed up an 80 gig project folder in an hour. It was easy to install and use. No softeware to install if your using Windows 2000 or XP. I recommend it to anyone looking for a fast external backup option.

Jim Capillo
03-10-2004, 12:47 PM
I bought a 160 gig drive for archive and backup. Right now it's operating on the LAN off of the internet machine and it's pretty quick there. Installed with no effort at all (W2K) and the drag 'n drop works fine from all machines. If this works out, I'll probably get a bigger drive and go firewire on the VT directly.