PDA

View Full Version : Sub patch - trying to learn

Peteschuermann
02-14-2004, 12:07 PM
Help anyone!

I'm new to sub-patch modeling and am currently builfing a character. In these images, you'll see a rough spot where some polygons come together at one point. The shading stops being smooth at the intersect point. What should I do about this?

(I'll include the cage view in the next post.)

Please help!

Peteschuermann
02-14-2004, 12:07 PM
Here is another image

Peteschuermann
02-14-2004, 12:09 PM
I guess the original image didn't make it...

digimassa
02-14-2004, 04:04 PM
:cool: bad mesh, check for doubled points or polys^^

Peteschuermann
02-14-2004, 04:24 PM
Hmmm - tried that. No good. Always where multiple ploys connect.

prospector
02-14-2004, 05:46 PM
Can't see a shaded wireframe but it looks like you have a 5 poly point. ( ie 5 polys connecting to 1 point.)
If you do then you will have to get it down to 4 or less.

That idea was 99.5 %
this one is the rest

Look for a poly inside model connecting those points.
Just be in poly mode and click on the wireframe lines where the problem is. if there are any then they will show up then.

But I am pretty sure it's the first Idea.

Peteschuermann
02-14-2004, 06:26 PM
Yes - it is the 5 poly thing. This is more than likely a dumb question, but do you have a good way to fix it?

Probably the answer is really obvious, but it eludes me with all the other stuff in my tiny head.

Thanks for your help, BTW...

riki
02-14-2004, 06:28 PM
Just some general tips first.

1. Bring up the Polygon Statistics window and make sure that you have no two point polygons in the mix. If you do, just select them and delete.

2. Merge Points

3. Unify Polygons

4. Delete any hidden internal Polygons after you perform functions like extrude.

and most likely in your case