PDA

View Full Version : Pentax Digital Camera

Keith
03-12-2003, 07:35 PM
Modelled this ages ago but thought I'd share it anyway...
Keith

Keith
03-12-2003, 07:36 PM
and another...

Matt
03-12-2003, 09:38 PM
very nice indeed!

as a product designer I like seeing this kind of work, there's only
so many rigged characters and cars one can take!!

;)

starbase1
03-13-2003, 01:49 AM
Very nice metal textures indeed - how about some clues as to how you did them?

Nick

badgerboy
03-13-2003, 03:20 AM
Hey! That's my camera. javascript:smilie(';)')

Nice job, however, some of the materials on the face of the camera are more matte in real life. And the zoom lens tunnel thing (as you can see I'm very technical) is not so shiny.;)

Keith
03-13-2003, 09:34 AM
Thanks for the comments guys.

You're right badgerboy, the textures are not exactly like the real McCoy (I have one too) but it was close enough for me :)

Nick, there's nothing particularly special about my texture settings. fyi, to achieve the brushed aluminium look I actually grabbed an image of lightwave interface background (see below).
I applied this to the colour, diffuse and bump channels to varying extents. I used image editor to make a high contrast version of this image and used it for the specular channel. I added a small amount of reflection and used a reflection blurring setting of 50%. I added the fast fresnel shader in the diffuse, spec and reflec channels.
I also use a spherical reflection map - a greyscale version of the chrome.tga file that comes with lightwave. Hope this helps?

Keith

bbowman
03-13-2003, 03:52 PM
I like it. What kind of lighting rig did you use? Is it radiosity or a spinning light trick?

Keith
03-13-2003, 05:03 PM
err neither. Lighting is 20 shaddow mapped spots plus one distant for specular. Spinning them would have made the shadows nicer though, I think the multiple shaddows that I've got look naff. Render time for these pics was about 7 minutes per (on an Athlon1800+).