PDA

View Full Version : auto surface selection



roguenroll
02-01-2004, 09:25 PM
Is there anything like when you have 100 surfs on a model and you select a poly some panel easy displays what the name of the surface is.

kinda like the opposite of the poly panel where you + select the surface. and the poly info panel.

that would be a quick fix for now, but for editting large models, it would be nice to just select the surface and on the open surface panel it auto highlights that surface, ready to edit.

R

evenflcw
02-02-2004, 02:45 AM
That would be nice. I always thought using the Statistics panel for selecting surfaces to be kinda tedious, especially if you want to select multiple surfaces.

I think the best option would be to turn the Layer Browser into a universal browser, where you could browse layers, surfaces, part, vMaps etc in all sorts of ways (single, list, hierarchy) and do all kinds of operations on them (save, load and close objects; rearrange layers; select multiple surfaces; select points assigned to a specific vmaps; merge, subtract, difference, blend selected vmaps). It could even be turned into Modelers equivalent of the New Scene editor, were you could have multiple instances all set up in various ways to fit your workflow.


Until then, perhaps these scripts could be of some use to you:
http://w1.851.telia.com/~u85113006/files/lscripts/

CheckSurfaces will simply scan through the selected polygons and report back the surface names, while SelectSurfaces will select all polygons with those assignements and report their names.

Matt
02-02-2004, 03:23 AM
not exactly the sane but pressing 'i' will display what surface selected polys are.

Kvaalen
02-02-2004, 12:50 PM
Just for you I made this LScript:

http://mapage.noos.fr/samuelLK/Plugins/SelBySurf.zip

It selects all the surfaces with the same surface name as the first selected surface.

Enjoy! :)

roguenroll
02-04-2004, 07:55 AM
Originally posted by Kvaalen
Just for you I made this LScript:

http://mapage.noos.fr/samuelLK/Plugins/SelBySurf.zip

It selects all the surfaces with the same surface name as the first selected surface.

Enjoy! :)


thx man, I tried it and I think I will work pretty good into my workflow, I think I'll assign it a keyboard command to it.


evenflcw, might be 7.5c or something, didnt even get to try those.
thx anyway.

Rogue