PDA

View Full Version : Xp pro and firewire help



videoconcepts
02-01-2004, 12:00 PM
I instaled XP Pro and the same thing is happening when i had my 2000.
it doesnt seem to like any thing like a 200+ gig fierwire drive I cant figure it out.
I have a dLink dfw500 drivers are built in to xp.
If i hook the big drive up to a smaller one sometimes it shows up but i cant copy anything from it. it starts but doesnt last.?

thanks...

Aegis
02-01-2004, 12:02 PM
I'm running XP Pro with a 250Gb FireWire drive and it works just great - maybe there's a problem with your FireWire PCI card? If it's on the motherboard do you have the board's drivers installed?

videoconcepts
02-01-2004, 12:12 PM
this is a card and i seemed to always have some problem with firewire drives. i would have to plug and un plug a few times till it would show up. but now with the bigger drives its a mess.... i just pu in xp pro and not any better That must mean it the card i would think.

Tom Wood
02-01-2004, 12:13 PM
I'm certainly no expert, but when I installed a 250G firewire HD and had trouble, the first question from Frys was, have you installed SP2? (Service Pack 2 for XP)

Remember too, that you have to format the drive and assign a drive letter.

HTH

TW

videoconcepts
02-01-2004, 12:16 PM
i have service pack1 . is the sp2 free?
the drive was formated ntfs and is ok on another xp system.

Aegis
02-01-2004, 02:38 PM
There isn't a Service Pack 2 for XP yet although there is a 1a...

videoconcepts
02-02-2004, 04:56 AM
I just checked and if your running sp1 you dont need sp1a. they are the same thing microsoft renamed it. thats what they said on there website.