PDA

View Full Version : Poser anim to LW Motion Mixer

Grace
01-31-2004, 07:47 PM
Hi!

I have a Poser eagle with an animated flapping wing cycle that I brought into LW using Pro Pack. I am a major amateur at animation so please forgive these two questions if the answer is blatantly obvious.
1. The only way I could see to 'capture' the flapping wing cycle (and any animation cycle for that matter) is to use Motion Mixer. So you create your actor, capture the cycle into a motion file and drop that motion file onto the Motion Mixer timeline (or stretch it) for as many frames as you need the motion repeated. Is there a better, easier way?
2. I tried the Motion Mixer tutorial in the HTML LW manual and got it to work fine. But then I brought in the 25 frame flapping wing cycle, created my actor, and it SEEMED to create the motion file, but when I repeatedly dropped the motion or stretched it on a longer timeline it just kept ending at 25 frames. I tried keyframing every single frame but that didn't help either.

Hope I explained this well. Could anyone please help?
Thanks!!

CROUTON213
02-02-2004, 04:03 PM
I use the Poser Pro Pack plug-in quite often and really love it. To the best of my knowledge, the actual animation is controlled entirely by Poser. Your Poser scene file is only being 'hosted' in Lightwave and therefore none of it's animation information is available in the different Lightwave tools such as Motion Mixxer.

The only way to squash or stretch the timing of your Poser animation is to do it in Poser (Animation Menu>Retime Animation) and then reload the scene in Lightwave.

If you just want to loop the animation, use the PzrForLW - PoserDisplacement plug-in interface and then, under the Scene Options tab select "Loop" under "If frame is out of range".

Grace
02-02-2004, 08:51 PM