PDA

View Full Version : PSD Export



fourd
02-10-2003, 09:12 AM
Can anyone explainto me how to use the psd post-processing plug-in in photoshop, or direct me to a tut.

When I open the file in photoshop, the layers seem to be locked to a base layer. How exactly are you to use this file?:confused:

J_Monty
02-10-2003, 10:41 PM
I don't get it either...how do you manipulate anything...short of changing the layer type.......grrr!!!!:confused:

Zafar Iqbal
02-11-2003, 12:15 AM
The PSD Exporter is buggy and it don't take much before Photoshop whines about it.

You can "fix" the layers by copying them to another psd image.

Red_Oddity
02-11-2003, 05:12 AM
If someone is interrested, i have an action script that does this for you already made.

Lamont
02-11-2003, 01:03 PM
There is another PSD export out there that's great, I just can't remember the name. If I come by it again, I'll send the link.

riki
02-11-2003, 03:24 PM
Thanks Red I'll give it a try. Hi Lamont if you find out more info on that other PSD Exporter PS let me know.

fourd
02-11-2003, 06:57 PM
Thanks for the action and the tips on the exporter.:D

luka
02-11-2003, 07:06 PM
That PSD export plug. Do you mean this one from Cebas. Although it 's only for 3dmax the level of control in exellent.
PSD Manager (http://www.cebas.com/news/read.asp?UD=10-7888-33-788&NID=36)

Lamont
02-11-2003, 07:28 PM
Nah, I saw it on flay.com..

luka
02-11-2003, 09:51 PM
Well I think newtek should address this issue as it's quite a flaw.

aquinde
02-12-2003, 08:11 AM
The exporter builds the file with the with layers grouped to the Background layer. All you need to do is select the Background layer and go to Layer/Ungroup (or Shift=Ctrl+G) to free up the layers above. Doing this also reduces the file size considerably after you save. Note that the various layers use different blending modes.

Red_Oddity
02-12-2003, 09:04 AM
But there still remains a bug, when you can indeed ungroup those layers, after some editing or tweaking layers, Photoshop just starts giving weird errors, or sometimes even greys out layers, making them uneditable and unselectable.

Now this could be a bug in Photoshop, but i think it is more likely (typicall :rolleyes: ) a bug in the PSD exporter.

aquinde
02-12-2003, 10:10 AM
I haven't noticed any weirdness in Photoshop with these files. But then again I haven't tried to do much with them in Photoshop since I do all my "Post" in Combustion.