PDA

View Full Version : [Modeller Script] rasterizing

aso3
01-27-2004, 04:50 PM
Hi,

I'm totally new to LightWave Script but I got some experience with C so don't be too soft on me ;) Anyway, I want to create a script that subdivides a (very large) landscape, and then cuts it into small 100 by 100 meter parts. In the end, each part has to be exported to a 3DS file. I just saw in another post that somebody had problems with the Knife-tool in scripts. Well, I think I have the same, don't know how to use it in script. But ok, these steps have to be taken for in the script:
1.- Rasterize the complete landscape (knife ?? :( ) into smaller
parts.
2.- Triple everything. Not much of a problem I guess
3.- Perform 1 or more subdivides... I saw the subdivide function in a script. That's not the problem but, I'm affraid the complete model will eat 2.5 million polygons... Please don't crash!
4.- Remove garbage (1 or 2 point sets) so it can be exported.
5.- Export each part to 'map_x_y.3DS'

I hope I didn't ask too much :rolleyes:. The triple and input parameters are simple but can somebody help on the other points? I would really appreciate that!

Greetings,
Rick

Titus
01-27-2004, 06:26 PM
How about Drill->slice operations to subdivide the mesh? Thats how julian works (I think).

wiffzack
01-28-2004, 09:25 AM
I think knife and such tools work in ls 2.6.

And if you are afraid that your system chrashes use the monitor functions. (monitit, monstep...) If they are used the ESC key could quit the script. But implementation is not so easy if it should exit immediatly

aso3
01-28-2004, 03:33 PM
Thanks for the tips guys, but I'm afraid my Script Editor is version 1.2. Aren't their any other ways to split the terrain up into pieces? I doesn't nescesarely has to be a script, as long as it all goes automatically I'm happy! Or maybe I'm not using the right implementation, the only thing my script does for knife is this:
Knife(); // gives error: "Unresolved function reference: knife();"