PDA

View Full Version : Accounting software for freelancers?

Steve McRae
01-26-2004, 06:00 PM
Can anyone recommend any financial software applicable for freelancers (ie. track hours, clients, billing etc)

QuickenXG can do this apparently but I have heard mixed things about it.

cheers, :)

mattclary
01-26-2004, 06:08 PM
With a little elbow grease Excel... well... excels at this sort of thing.

If not that, my wife (book-keeper by trade) recommends Quickbooks over Quicken. It's only a little more.

Steve McRae
01-26-2004, 06:24 PM
heh heh - thanks - I'm trying to get away from the "elbow grease"

:)

UnCommonGrafx
01-26-2004, 06:26 PM
QuickBook Pro. It even interfaces with most banks/baniking accounts in that you can download your info to put into QBP, if need be. Great for tracking purposes.

lunarcamel
01-27-2004, 07:56 AM
http://www.worktime.info/

Rather simple app that allows you to track hours, clients, different pay rates etc. I use it all the time because its simple and quick to use. When you're working on multiple jobs it really helps!

And since its monitoring what apps you're using etc you can really see how much time you're checking your email! ;)

meshmaster
01-28-2004, 09:42 AM
EXCEL can do it... very easily too... if you can't afford that, try open office, which suppossedly has an app in it that does the same thing as excel, including saving to excel file format.

Steve McRae
01-28-2004, 09:53 AM
thanks mesh - I am currently using excel - I am interested in a more automated approach to my client / financial / hours / billing management

Willax
01-28-2004, 11:04 AM
I would reccommend QuickBooks. It's already set up for that so you wouldn't have to do the set up like you would in Excel. Plus it is cheaper, interfaces with your banks, has invoicing, billing, AP, AR and all the other business items you would ever need.

jproberts
02-06-2004, 03:44 PM