PDA

View Full Version : Bandsaw Issues

mcaa666
01-24-2004, 07:53 PM
Hi everybody,
Since i am fairly new to modeling in Lightwave I have the following question.
I am modelling a car (Nissan 350 Z) using spline patching.
In the picture i've added you can see three corners marked red.
In order to make these corners sharp in sub-patch mode i need to bandsaw them.
But how do i do that without getting creases over the entire rear section of the car?
Please help, i'm getting desperate over here!
If you want i can send you the model.
:mad: :confused: :(

mattbolton
01-25-2004, 12:08 AM
You might be able to accomplish what you want by using the Sub-Patch weight map and trying values around 50% or higher for those points and the ones behind them, and then you wouldn't need to bandsaw.

Lewis
01-25-2004, 09:27 AM
Hi !

matt's idea is good and works fine with "normal" modeling but won't work/look well on this particular subject :). Acctualy i don't find is useful for car modeling almost never :(. Problem is that right now car tailight have nice semi-sharp but rounded edge and if you weight that corner point to get more pointy corner (instead round corner) you'll mixup whole ede and it would be too sharp on that corner :(. That's why we need EDGE weighting in LW insted just point weighting :).

But solution is easy. Just Bandsaw (or cut with knife) only 2-3 polygons and not entire row. How to control bandsaw lenght ? Easy just hide polygon on bumper where you want bandsawing to stop. After bandsw you'll need to weld one point to get tringle and unhide hided polygon after.